Tag-Archiv: Schwachstellen

Großer Sicherheitstest deckt Schwachstellen in allen gängigen WLAN-Routern auf

Großer Sicherheitstest deckt Schwachstellen in allen gängigen WLAN-Routern auf

Wie sicher WLAN-Router sein können? In einer Welt, in der das Internet ein weiterer menschlicher Lebensraum ist, der weiß, was dort lauern kann. Und hier kommt Ihr Festungsrouter. Redakteure des deutschen Magazins Chip und Experten von IoT Inspector haben die beliebtesten Router auf Schwachstellen getestet. Die Ergebnisse erwiesen sich als negativ übertreffend. Forscher haben zu …

Weiterlesen »

Neuer PowerShortShell-Stealer

Neuer PowerShortShell Stealer nutzt aktuelle Microsoft MSHTML-Sicherheitslücke

Im November 24, 2021 SafeBreach Labs veröffentlichte Forschung zu einem neuen iranischen Bedrohungsakteur, der eine Microsoft MSHTML Remote Code Execution verwendet (RCE) Exploit zum Zielen auf Opfer mit einem neuen PowerShell-Stealer oder PowerShortShell. ShadowChasing hat den Fall zuerst auf ihrer Twitter-Seite gemeldet. Allerdings konnten Spezialisten den Hash/Code von PowerShell Stealer nicht abrufen, da er in öffentlichen Malware-Repositorys nicht verfügbar war …

Weiterlesen »

Ein weiterer Windows Zero Day ermöglicht Administratorrechte

Ein weiterer Windows Zero Day ermöglicht Administratorrechte

Der Forscher Abdelhamid Naceri, der diesmal häufig über Windows-Fehler berichtet, hat einen funktionierenden Proof-of-Concept-Exploit für Admin-Rechte Zero-Day auf GitHub veröffentlicht. Laut Naceri wird es auf allen unterstützten Windows-Versionen funktionieren. Dieser besondere Zero Day kann es einem potenziellen bösen Akteur ermöglichen, eine Eingabeaufforderung mit SYSTEM-Berechtigungen von einem Konto mit nur niedrigem "Standard" zu öffnen’ Privilegien. …

Weiterlesen »

Palo Altos massives Zero-Day-Loch

Palo Altos massives Zero-Day-Loch

Palo Altos massiver Zero-Day-Loch-CVE 2021-3064 erzielte eine CVSS-Bewertung von 9.8 aus 10 für den Schweregrad der Schwachstelle. Die GlobalProtect-Firewall des PAN ermöglicht nicht authentifiziertes RCE auf mehreren Versionen von PAN-OS 8.1 vor 8.1.17, auf physischen und virtuellen Firewalls. Es verlässt möglicherweise 10,000 anfällige Firewalls, deren Waren dem Internet ausgesetzt sind. Randori-Recherchen zur Schwachstelle …

Weiterlesen »

Forscher zeigten, wie man ganz einfach Wi-Fi-Passwörter knacken kann

Forscher zeigten, wie man ganz einfach Wi-Fi-Passwörter knacken kann

Kürzlich teilte ein in Tel Aviv ansässiger Sicherheitsforscher im Internet die Ergebnisse seines Experiments. Ido Hoorvitch wollte zeigen, wie verwundbar die meisten Netzwerke sind. Die Ergebnisse haben alle überrascht. Für das Experiment, er benutzte a $50 WLAN-Signalverstärker und ein Laptop. Zu den weiteren Tools gehörten spezielle Hardwaretreiber, die den Monitormodus mit dem Signal Extender und den Paketerfassungstools aktivieren. Das …

Weiterlesen »

Cyberkriminelle nutzen alte ungepatchte Schwachstellen

Cyberkriminelle nutzen alte ungepatchte Schwachstellen

Cyber-Sicherheitsforscher des kalifornischen Unternehmens Qualys veröffentlichten einen Bericht, in dem sie häufige Schwachstellen und Gefährdungen analysierten (CVEs). Die Ergebnisse zeigten hauptsächlich solche, die in den letzten Jahren bei Ransomware-Angriffen verwendet wurden. Das Interessante war, dass die meisten der häufig verwendeten Schwachstellen diejenigen waren, die nicht gepatcht wurden. “Die Rate, mit der Schwachstellen zunehmen, ist exponentiell höher als …

Weiterlesen »

Tag Archives: Vulnerabilities

The State of Healthcare IoT Device Security 2022

The State of Healthcare IoT Device Security 2022

Cynerio, a company that provides healthcare facilities with its Healthcare IoT platform, recently published a report on the current state of connected medical device security in hospitals of all sizes. The company’s research report on the industry covers the various crucial questions.The report also contains the executive summary and the background of the research. “For decades, patient care has seen …

Read More »

Zoom Zero-click Exploits explained by Project Zero

Zoom Zero-click Exploits explained by Project Zero

Recently Natalie Silvanovich from Google’s Project Zero team published a post where she explained the details of the two vulnerabilities found and reported to Zoom previously. She gave an extensive analysis of a buffer overflow and an info leak vulnerabilities; both fixed on November 24, 2021. The first vulnerability affected both Zoom clients and MMR servers while the second one …

Read More »

Major security test reveal vulnerabilities in all common Wi-Fi routers

Major security test reveal vulnerabilities in all common Wi-Fi routers

How safe wifi routers can be? In a world where the Internet is another human habitat who knows what can lurk there. And here comes your stronghold router. Editors from German magazine Chip and experts from IoT Inspector have put to test for vulnerabilities the most popular routers. The results turned out to be negatively exceeding. Researchers have put to …

Read More »

New PowerShortShell Stealer

New PowerShortShell Stealer Exploits Recent Microsoft MSHTML Vulnerability

On November 24, 2021 SafeBreach Labs published research on a new Iranian threat actor using a Microsoft MSHTML Remote Code Execution (RCE) exploit for targeting victims with a new PowerShell stealer or PowerShortShell. ShadowChasing first reported the case on their Twitter page. However specialists could not get the PowerShell Stealer hash/code as it was not available on public malware repositories …

Read More »

Another Windows zero day allows for admin privileges

Another Windows zero day allows for admin privileges

Researcher Abdelhamid Naceri who often reports on Windows bugs this time dropped a working proof-of-concept exploit for admin privileges zero-day on GitHub. According to Naceri it will work on all supported versions of Windows. This particular zero day can allow a potential bad actor to open a command prompt with SYSTEM privileges from an account with only low-level ‘Standard’ privileges. …

Read More »

Palo Alto`s massive zero-day hole

Palo Alto`s massive zero-day hole

Palo Alto`s massive zero-day hole CVE 2021-3064 scored a CVSS rating of 9.8 out of 10 for vulnerability severity. The PAN’s GlobalProtect firewall allows for unauthenticated RCE on multiple versions of PAN-OS 8.1 prior to 8.1.17, on both physical and virtual firewalls. It potentially leaves 10,000 vulnerable firewalls with their goods exposed to the internet. Randori researches concerning the vulnerability …

Read More »

Researcher showed how to easily crack Wi-Fi passwords

Researcher showed how to easily crack Wi-Fi passwords

Recently a Tel-Aviv-based security researcher shared on the internet the results of his experiment. Ido Hoorvitch wanted to show how vulnerable most networks are. The results amazed everyone. For the experiment, he used a $50 Wi-Fi signal extender and a laptop. Other tools included specialized hardware drivers that enable monitor mode with the signal extender and packet capture tools. The …

Read More »

Cyber criminals use old unpatched vulnerabilities

Cyber criminals use old unpatched vulnerabilities

Cyber security researchers at California-based company Qualys published a report in which they analyzed Common Vulnerabilities and Exposures (CVEs). The results showed mostly those used in ransomware attacks over the past years. The interesting thing was that most of the often-used vulnerabilities were those that have been left unpatched. “The rate at which vulnerabilities are rising is exponentially higher than …

Read More »